The library is conducting an online survey to better understand how you, the patrons, use the library’s technology so we can continue to provide resources and services that are valuable to the community.

Click here to take our survey

Helpful Web Links

Find People and Places

Telephone and Address Directories
AnyWho  http://www.anywho.com/whitepages
Yahoo People Search  http://people.yahoo.com/
Reverse directory  http://reversedirectory.langenberg.com/
International dialing guide  http://www.business.att.com/bt/dial_guide.jsp
USPS Zip Code Lookup  https://tools.usps.com/go/ZipLookupAction!input.action 

Get Directions - Mapping Websites
Google Maps  http://maps.google.com/
Mapquest  http://www.mapquest.com/
Rand McNally http://www.randmcnally.com/ 
* * * * *

Local, State, and Federal Info

City and Local Information
City of Madison  http://www.cityofmadisonsd.com/
Chamber of Commerce visitor and relocation guides http://www.chamberofmadisonsd.com/
Madison Central School District  http://www.madison.k12.sd.us/
Lake County, South Dakota  http://www.lakecountysd.com/ 
Madison Daily Leader  http://madisonet.com/site/
KJAM Radio  http://www.amazingmadison.com/ 
Dakota State University  http://www.dsu.edu/

SD State Information
South Dakota Home Page  http://www.state.sd..us 
South Dakota State Historical Society  http://history.sd.gov/
South Dakota Public Broadcasting  http://www.sdpb.org/

Federal Government Information
IRS Site  http://www.irs.gov 
Vital Records  http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w.htm
* * * * *
Library Information
American Library Association  http://www.ala.org 
Library of Congress  http://www.loc.gov/index.html 
South Dakota Library Association  http://www.sdlibraryassociation.org
South Dakota State Library  http://www.sdstatelibrary.com
What's Next Database (searching for books in a series)
    http://www.kdl.org/libcat/WhatsNextNEW.asp 

South Dakota Library Network Databases  http://www.sdln.net/?mode=databases
Obituary Index of the Madison Daily Leader  
* * * * *
Information for Parents & Prospective College Students
FAFSA - Free Application for Federal Student Aid  http://www.fafsa.ed.gov
CollegeNET - college search and resources  http://cnsearch.collegenet.com/cgi-bin/CN/index
Peterson's Guide to Colleges  http://www.petersons.com/college-search.aspx 
Peterson's Guide to Graduate Schools  http://www.petersons.com/graduate-schools.aspx 
Princetown Review - college guide and test prep  http://www.princetonreview.com/  
* * * * *
Conversion Tools
Metric Conversion Tool  http://www.metric-conversions.org 
Currency Converter  http://finance.yahoo.com/currency-converter
Time Zone Converter  http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html 
Wolfram Alpha Computational Knowledge Engine http://www.wolframalpha.com/
* * * * *

Free Online Reference Resources

Medical Information
Merk Manual for Diagnosis and Therapy  http://www.merckmanuals.com/home/index.html 
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine  http://nccam.nih.gov/
Physicians Desk Reference  http://www.merckmanuals.com/home/index.html
RxList Internet Drug Index  http://www.merckmanuals.com/home/index.html 

Travel Guides
Dog-Friendly- pet travel guide  http://www.dogfriendly.com/
Great Outdoor Recreation Pages  http://www.gorp.com/
Rough Guides Travel  http://www.roughguides.com/
Tourism Offices Worldwide Directory  http://www.towd.com/ 

Atlases and Geography Websites
Geography - About.com  http://geography.about.com/ 
National Geographic Atlas Explorer  http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/map/atlas

Encyclopedias - General and Topical (and Fun)
Infoplease Encyclopedia  http://www.infoplease.com/encyclopedia/
Encyclopedias.com  http://www.encyclopedia.com/ 
Encyclopedia Britannica free online  http://www.britannica.com/
MedlinePlus medical encyclopedia  http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/encyclopedia.html
Art Cyclopedia  http://www.artcyclopedia.com/ 
Performing Arts Encyclopedia  http://www.loc.gov/performingarts/
Encyclopedia of the World  http://i-cias.com/e.o/index.htm
Internet Encyclopedia of Science  http://www.daviddarling.info/encyclopedia/ETEmain.html 
Star Wars Encyclopedia  http://theforce.net/swenc/
Encyclopedia Titanica  http://www.encyclopedia-titanica.org/ 

Dictionaries - English Language and Foreign
Merriam Webster Word Central for kids  http://www.wordcentral.com/ 
Infoplease Dictionary  http://dictionary.infoplease.com/
OneLook - search multiple dictionaries  http://www.onelook.com/
Internet Picture Dictionary  http://www.pdictionary.com/
Multi-Lingual E-Translation  http://www.logos.it/lang/transl_en.html
English & foreign language dictionaries  http://www.thefreedictionary.com/
ForeignWord.com  http://www.foreignword.com/   

Thesauri
Thesaurus.com  http://thesaurus.com/

Famous Quotations
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations  http://www.bartleby.com/100/
Creative Quotations  http://creativequotations.com/
Famous Quotes and Authors  http://www.famousquotesandauthors.com/
Quoteland.com  http://www.quoteland.com/
ThinkExist.com  http://en.thinkexist.com/
Quotes.net  http://www.quotes.net/ 

Biographies
Who2 Biographies  http://www.who2.com/
Short Biographies  http://www.short-biographies.com/
Encyclopedia of World Biographies  http://biography.yourdictionary.com/
From Revolution to Reconstruction Biographies  http://odur.let.rug.nl/~usa/B/
Biographical information about American presidents  http://www.americanpresidents.org/

Fun and Interesting Reference Resources
How to Clean Anything  http://www.howtocleananything.com/
Do It Yourself Home Improvement  http://www.doityourself.com/
Guinness World Records  http://www.guinnessworldrecords.com/
Emily Post's Etiquette  http://www.bartleby.com/95/index.html